Email Marketing: How to Strategically Communicate at Scale (2022)

More than 319.6 billion emails are sent daily.

This figure is expected to reach 376 billion daily emails by the end of 2025.

Email marketing strategies have changed over the years.

What worked five years ago, now no longer works.

But it's still a key player to any marketing strategy.

In fact, for the very best online marketers’ email marketing is their go-to marketing channel.

Why, you ask?

It's because it brings in the results and delivers the best marketing ROI:

Email Marketing: How to Strategically Communicate at Scale (1)That’s right!

Email marketing outperforms all online marketing strategies, including SEO, PPC, and content marketing!

An email marketing strategy is an important part of any marketing strategy. Email is the most cost-effective way to promote your products, communicate with your customers and reach your business goals.

And on average, for every $1 you spend on email marketing, you can expect a return of $42.

Not bad, right?

Here, we will share the best email marketing strategies you can use to achieve extraordinary results through email marketing.

5strategies for better email marketingcampaigns

When you follow these email marketing strategies,email will become your most important channel too!

Let's get started.

1. Personalize your messages

When we say personalized email marketing, we don’t mean that you send an individual email to every single subscriber. Personalization means that you use customer data to create a personalized message.

A great example of a company that does personalization well is Amazon.

All of Amazon's emails are personalized.

It's not "Dear valued customer", but "Dear Steven".

It's not, "You might like these... (randomly generated)", but "You might like these (based onmy purchase history)".

To Amazon, email marketing is not just another marketing channel. It's key to of the overall customer experience.

Jeff Bezos, Amazon’s CEO is an email mastermind. Jeff Bezos understands the value of emails and has been known to read through customer complaints. It’s also why more than 35% of all product sales come from recommendations (both via email and on screen).

And it's not just Amazon that have seen these kinds of results through personalization.

A study by Experian found that personalized emails deliver 6x higher transaction rates!

Let’s break this down into numbers we can all understand:

Back in 2019, a research found that email marketing generates $0.08 in revenue per email.

(Video) How to Master Email Marketing (2023)

That may not sound like much...

But if you send out an email campaign to 500,000 subscribers, you cangenerate up to $40,000 in revenue.

That's a lot of additional revenue!

But,if youuse personalization in your emails, you can expecta lot more!

According to new research,

Personalization can generate $20 in ROI for every $1 invested.

How's that for a revenue opportunity?

The best part is this:

70% of brands do not use personalization within their email marketing strategy.

This means that by personalizing your emails, you stand out against the competition.

The simplest form of personalization is to address the reader by name. Most email service providers (ESP) offer this within their functionality and this tactic alone will improve your campaign performance.

For example, email subject lines that are personalized with a recipient’s first name can increase open rates by 16% higher open rates.

Email Marketing: How to Strategically Communicate at Scale (2)Considering that 47% of all emails are opened because of subject line alone, that’s a sure fire way to get more eyeballs on your email.

Outside of using the customer’s name, here are a few more tips to help you get started with personalization:

  • Ask for the right information upfront: Great personalization starts way before you hit the ‘send’ button. It all starts with your sign up form. Without data such as name, company and location, you will be very limited with your personalized communication. Remember to only ask for the information you need, rather than the information you want. This is one of the ways that GDPR has impacted marketing teams.
  • Use a real reply-to email address: When you use donotreply@example.com, it takes away the authenticity from the messaging. You want your readers to engage and respond to your campaigns. Use a real reply address will improve credibility and appear more personal.
  • Use your real email signature: Just like using a real reply-to email address, you want to use real contact information within the email and the best way to do that is to include your contact details in the email signature. Giving your readers the opportunity to contact you or connect with you online is a great way to be personal and build a relationship with them.

2. Segment your subscribers

According to email marketers, segmentation is second on the top initiatives listthis year.

Email Marketing: How to Strategically Communicate at Scale (3)Do you know why it is so high?

It's because when you segment your database, your email campaigns become much more targeted to your audience.

Let’s take a look at an example:

You're hosting a networking event for small business owners located within a 20 mile radius.

How can you expect to get the best turn out for your event?

The answer issegmentation.

The best way to get small business owners to turn up to your event would be to create a segment of people who list themselves as a small business owner that lives within 20 miles of your event and then send them an invite by email.

The segmentation part is simple and can easily be done through CRM software.

Compare this to sending one email to your entire database, with subscribers spread across the country (or continent).

How annoying is it to receive an email that invites you to an event that is located on other side of the world?

It's very annoying!

Before you start segmenting your database, let’s take a look at how valuable it can be.

A recent study found that all email marketing KPIs perform better when you segment your email list.

(Video) Email Marketing Strategies For B2B SaaS Companies

The segmentation results include increased performance in:

Email Marketing: How to Strategically Communicate at Scale (4)If you segment your lists, you get better open rates, revenue, leads, transactions and more customers.

Another benefit is thatsegmentation goes hand in hand with GDPR and email marketing.

But, does it really work?

Yes!

Here's an example from our own email marketing campaigns:

We recently sent out two email marketing campaigns. Both campaigns had the same subject line and the same content.

The first campaign was sent to our non-segmented email list, while the second was sent to our segmented list (segmented by interest).

The first non-segmented email earned an impressive 42 % open rate and a 4.5% click-through rate.

However, the segmented email campaignearned a 94% open rate and a 38% click-through rate!

Email Marketing: How to Strategically Communicate at Scale (5)I’d say it’s pretty valuable, wouldn’t you?

And that's why so many marketers' are segmenting their emails, right?

Wrong.

As 9 out of 10 email marketers' do not segment their database.

So, here are a few examples for you to get started with segmentation:

  • Segment by industry: Do you offer services and products to businesses or consumers? Knowing the industry of your subscribers is a great way to segment your email campaigns. For example, a business that sells car parts would engage at a much higher rate if they receive email campaigns on car products, compared to a business that sells software.
  • Segment by company size: Also known as account-based marketing, segmenting email campaigns by company size or annual revenue is a great way to increase response rates. A small business that employs 5 people is not likely ready for the biggest industry conference of the year, whereas a business that employs 750 people might be a better fit.
  • Segment by sales cycle: Early stage buyers will not be ready for an aggressive sales pitch or one-to-one demo but, they will be more appreciative to receive an industry research white paper. On the other end of the cycle, buyers who are ready to buy will respond well to product webinars or free trial offers.

3. Send mobile friendly emails

In 2012, 27% of all marketing emails were opened on a mobile device.

By 2014, that number jumped up to 42%.

Now, it’s as high as 61%!

These are huge numbers!

And what do you do as soon as you wake up in the morning?

If you’re like me, I’m guessing you have your phone next to your bed and the first thing you do each morning is check your phone for calls, messages and yes, you guessed it, emails...

Don’t worry, you’re not the only one. 50% of us do this.

When you send an email to a subscriber who reads their emails on their mobile device, but the email is not optimized for that device, what do you think they do with?

Mostly, they will unsubscribe or delete it.

So why is it that almost half of all emails are still not mobile friendly?

Email Marketing: How to Strategically Communicate at Scale (6)Worse still, our own email marketing research found that 20% of email campaigns are not optimized for mobile.

Yet on the opposite end of the scale, and when email campaigns are optimized for mobile, they generate a lot of revenue!

(Video) Email Marketing 2020: How To Start Or Scale A $100k+ Per Year Business From Sending Simple Emails

The average revenue per mobile email is $0.40, which is more than4x that of a desktop email click, according to Yesmail.

Revenue per email on mobile devices is 4X higher than desktop

And 55% of smartphone users have made at least one purchase after receiving a mobile promotional email.

Furthermore, a study by Flexmail found that 36% of B2B companies that have optimized their email campaigns for mobile devices saw an overall improvement to their email performance.

So, how do you optimize your campaigns for mobile devices?

Don’t worry, here are some tips on how to do that.

  • Implement responsive email design (RED): Creating a responsive email design means that the user experience is optimized regardless of the device or screen they use. Most email service providers (ESP) offer this solution within their email functionality.
  • Keep the subject line and pre-header short: The subject line is crucial. Keep it short so the reader knows exactly what the email topic is about. And the pre-header text (also known as snippet text), don’t let it go to waste by using “To view this email in your browser…”. Instead, summarize the email or include a call to action (i.e., Use “FREESHIP” to get free shipping).
  • Make the CTA big and obvious: Mobile device vary in size. While a text link may work on a tablet or larger screen, you might be alienating your readers who have a smaller screen (or bigger hands!) if your call to action is too small. Make the call to action, big, bold and simple to click.

4. Test copy, design and buttons

Whether you test your home page, landing pages or email templates, testing provides us with data to make practical decisions that will improve our marketing performance.

And email marketing is no different.

Most marketers have A/B tested their email campaigns.

If I had to guess, I'd say you’ve tested your email subject line, right?

Email Marketing: How to Strategically Communicate at Scale (7)Even the formerPresident of the United States has A/B tested his email subject lines….

Think I’m kidding?

Email marketing played a huge part in the success of Obama's 2012 Presidential campaign.

By sending several variations made to the subject line to a small sample of subscribers, they were able to calculate the amount in donations they could expect to receive based on the results.

The sample size revealed that the poorest performing subject line ("The one thing the polls got right.."), when sent to the entire database, would generate $403,603 in donations.

The best performing subject line ("I will be outspent") was expected to generate $2,540,866 in donations.

That's a huge difference!

In fact, the best performing subject line outperformed expectations and generated a total of $2,673,278.

That's an additional $2.2 million in donations raised due to a change in the emails subject line!

President Barack Obama raised an additional $2 million in donations by split testing his email subject line

But it's not only subject lines you can test through email marketing.

You can also test:

  • From address: The name that appears in the “from” field has a huge impact on whether the reader opens your email. In fact, the sender name is the main reason why people open your email. Test your from address by sending your campaigns from a person’s name, person + company or from your CEO.
  • Plain text vs HTML campaigns: Like most marketers’, I’m sure you are already sending a plain text version of your email. However, have you thought of testing an email campaign that is plain text only? And when you add an element of personalization, plain text emails appear to be written just for the reader.
  • Long vs short emails: You can keep your emails short and sweet or, you can create long detailed emails. Long form emails can include more detailed copy whereas shorter emails will send the reader directly to a targeted landing page. The best way to see what works best? Test it.

(Not sure how to design your email campaigns? We've collected 21 of the best B2B email marketing examples from the world's leading SaaS companies.)

5. Automate email campaigns when possible

Trigger-based emails are emails that are sent out automatically based on user behavior.

The most common forms of trigger emails are ‘welcome’ emails, ‘thank you’ emails and ‘transactional’ emails, such as order confirmation email and email receipts.

The data behind trigger emails shows us that trigger emails perform much better than traditional email.

For example, Epsilon found that:

  • Open rates for trigger emails are as high as 49% (95% higher than traditional email open rates)
  • The average click-through rate (CTR) for trigger emails is more than double the rate compared to traditional email click-through rates
  • The best converting websites in the world, sites that convert as much as 40% of their traffic, use trigger emails.

And not only that. According to the recent Blueshift Report, trigger-based marketing emails are 497% more effective than batch and blast emails.

Does this sound too good to be true?

(Video) The 5 Step Process for Strategically Scaling Marketing

Well, it's not. We've tested it. And it works!

Below is a comparison for our traditional email campaign (left) against our triggered email campaign (right):

Email Marketing: How to Strategically Communicate at Scale (8)

Our triggered emails generated 5x higher open rates and 15x higher click-through rates.

Today, only 20% of marketers currently use triggered emails and they make up a low percentage of overall email volume, at around 2.6%. However, they can be responsible for as much as 20% of your email marketing revenue!

Triggered emails perform really well because they hit the email marketing sweet spot.

What does the email marketing sweet spot look like, you ask?

It looks like this:

Email Marketing: How to Strategically Communicate at Scale (9)

And the reason why they perform so well is because of context.

Consider the following scenario;

You visit a website, browse the product line and add items to your shopping cart but, you begin to have doubts and decide to leave before completing a purchase.

Sound familiar?

This happens to every single eCommerce store, every single day.

But what if, one hour later, you receive an email that includes the exact product you were shopping for?

And what if this email included not only a quick-link back to your shopping cart but, a free shipping code or 10% discount?

You’re now more likely to complete your purchase, aren’t you?

That’s the power of trigger emails.

But setting up triggered emails is expensive and complex, isn't it?

It doesn't have to be. You can start by using auto-responders in your customer service software to replicate the automation aspect. That's what we do for all of our existing triggered emails and we're happy with it.

Here are some examples of trigger mails you can send;

  • Activation: A new user creates an account but, they do not use your product within the first 7 days. Create an "activation" campaign that sends an automated email with their login information, steps on how they can get started and include a video demonstration for additional support. You can also invite them to a one-on-one meeting to walk them through the product and answer any questions they may have.
  • Win-back: An existing customer is soon approaching the end of his yearly subscription. The customer hasn't used your product in 3 months and you need a way to win them back and keep them for another year. Create a "win back" email that sends an automated email to all customers that are coming to end of their contract with a list of new product features and a short plan on expected releases in the next six months.
  • Surprise: Customer loyalty is the key to success. And you can reward your loyal customers by giving them something for free every now and then. Create a "surprise" email that sends an automated email to your best customers that offers a free yearly license to your software for them to use, a gift card or even a coupon code to redeem a box of cupcakes. It’s a small cost for your business but, the reward is huge!

Conclusion

Email marketing continues to deliver results.

But email marketing has evolved. It's no longer as simple as sending the same email to all.

It's time to update your email marketing strategy.

Now, you need to send targeted messages. Messages that are personalized, and optimized for multiple devices.

You also need test new elements. Trends change quickly, and what worked 12 months ago may not be successful today. Be open to testing. And when you understand what works, find ways to automate it through triggered emails.

If you implement these new changes into your email marketing strategy your customers will be more responsive, your campaign performance will improve and your business will continue grow.

(Video) EngageMint 2019: Scale Your Email Marketing Strategy by Chris Adams

What do you think makes a modern email marketing strategy successful?

Back to articles

FAQs

What are the 3 main characteristics of an effective email marketing strategy? ›

But the most successful email marketing initiatives all have the same qualities in common.
  • They have great subject lines. ...
  • They're compelling and easy to read. ...
  • They're relevant. ...
  • They have goals. ...
  • They're sent at the right times. ...
  • They're compatible with mobile devices.

Is email marketing scalable? ›

Scalable - email marketing can be used to reach large audiences or smaller targeted lists. Personalisation and segmentation - with email marketing you can personalise messages.

What are the 5 elements of an email? ›

You can make it easier on your recipients by making sure your business emails include these five essential elements.
  • A Concise, Direct Subject Line. ...
  • A Proper Greeting. ...
  • Proper Grammar, Correct Spelling. ...
  • Only Essential Information. ...
  • A Clear Closing.

What are the 4 types of marketing emails? ›

Below, we've outlined the four types of popular email marketing campaigns and how you can use them to help your business grow.
  • Email Newsletters. One of the most common and popular email marketing campaigns are Email Newsletters. ...
  • Acquisition Emails. ...
  • Retention Emails. ...
  • Promotional Emails.
10 Oct 2018

What makes a great email marketer? ›

The best email marketers are analysts at heart, always looking for more data about the customers on their email lists. Email marketers analyze two core types of data: Performance metrics like open rates, conversion rates, etc.

What is the best email marketing tool? ›

The 6 Best Email Marketing Software of 2022
  • Best Overall: Mailchimp.
  • Best for Automation: ActiveCampaign.
  • Easiest to Use: MailerLite.
  • Best All-in-One Marketing Suite: Hubspot.
  • Best Affordable Option: Moosend.
  • Best for E-commerce: Drip.

How can I improve my email metrics? ›

9 Key Email Marketing Metrics & How to Optimize for Them
  1. Track Sources to Understand Digital Marketing Campaign KPIs. ...
  2. Track Open Rate as an Email Engagement Metric. ...
  3. Always Look to Reduce Email Bounce Rate as You Set Your KPIs. ...
  4. Email Click-Through Rate is a Metric That Proves Performance. ...
  5. Look at Conversion Rates.

What is the success rate of email marketing? ›

Based on the data presented by MailChimp, the average open rate across all industries is at 21.80%, and the average click-through rate is 2.78%.
...
Email Marketing Open and Click-Through Rates by Industry.
IndustryOpen RateClick-Through Rate
Marketing and Advertising17.81%1.92%
Media and Publishing22.14%4.70%
45 more rows
22 Sept 2020

How do you measure engagement in email? ›

Here are the formulas you'll need to know: Open rate: Open rate = (# emails opened ÷ # delivered emails) x 100. Click-through rate: CTR – (total measured clicks ÷ delivered emails) x 100. Click-to-Open rate: CTOR = (# of unique clicks ÷ # of unique opens) x 100.

Does email marketing still work in 2022? ›

Absolutely! It is more relevant now than ever before. Research shows us that email is still the best channel to reach people on, ahead of other channels, even with the increase in popularity of social media and other messaging platforms. Email users are anticipated to continue growing.

In which way can your email marketing have the most impact? ›

Your email marketing campaigns can easily incorporate messages to encourage a purchase to an audience that's more likely to buy from you because they've opted-in to your messages and updates. Additionally, you can use email marketing to automate part of your sales process, which can help increase sales as well.

Which of the following is most important metric to track email marketing? ›

Conversion Rate

It is the metric that matters most when looking at email marketing success. Compare the conversion rate to the overall open rate of your email campaign.

What are the most effective elements of an email campaign? ›

9 Must-have Components of every Email Marketing Campaign
  1. Have a Plan. Start by putting an email marketing plan in place. ...
  2. Choose Best Performing Subject Lines. ...
  3. Personalization. ...
  4. Database Segmentation. ...
  5. Mobile Optimization. ...
  6. Don't Ignore Message Preview Text. ...
  7. Make Data-driven Decisions. ...
  8. Test Your Emails.
16 Dec 2021

What email marketing mistakes should be avoided? ›

10 Email Marketing Mistakes You're Making — How to Avoid Them
  • Penning Poor Subject Lines.
  • Not Letting Readers Reply.
  • Coming Across As Shady.
  • Going Crazy With Graphics and Stock Photos.
  • Falling Out of Touch.
  • Neglecting Mobile Users.
  • Forgetting a Call to Action.
  • Creating Email Campaigns That Sell.

Which are the 4 important parts of a professional email? ›

The 4 Essential Parts of an Email
  • The subject line. Arguably the most important component of the email, the subject line is the deciding factor in whether your message is read or deleted. ...
  • The salutation. The start of the email sets the tone for the main body. ...
  • The bit in the middle. ...
  • The ending.
10 Feb 2013

What are three basic elements should all emails have? ›

The email message envelope consists of three items: sender, subject line, and preheader.

What should a professional email look like? ›

Professional Email Address Format

The most standard and recommended form of a professional email address is of course the firstname.lastname@domain.tld format. But there are some other ways you can get a professional email address, such as: firstnameinitial.lastname@domain.tld. firstnameinitiallastname@domain.tld.

What are the challenges of email marketing? ›

Top 5 Email Marketing Challenges Every Marketer Faces (and How You Can Solve Them)
  • Boosting Engagement Rates.
  • Increasing Customer Retention.
  • Improving Email Personalization.
  • Integrating Your Data.
  • Improving Email Deliverability.
15 Apr 2022

What is the poem framework? ›

What is the POEM framework? The POEM is a marketing methodology used by digital marketing experts to formulate the social media marketing strategy, and it stands for Paid, Owned, and Earned Media.

How do you become a email strategist? ›

How to become an email marketing specialist
  1. Get a college degree. While it is possible to become an email marketing specialist with only a high school diploma, most positions ask for a bachelor's degree in a major that relates to digital media. ...
  2. Find an internship. ...
  3. Consider a certificate program. ...
  4. Publish. ...
  5. Create a portfolio.
9 Nov 2021

What is a strategic email? ›

An email marketing strategy is a set of procedures that a marketer identifies and follows to achieve desired marketing goals with email advertising. This plan of action gives the businesses a direct channel of communication with prospects and customers for brand promotion.

What are email marketing analytics? ›

Email analytics is the method of tracking how your subscribers interact with your emails by tracking different metrics that deal with email delivery, engagement, and conversions. Such analytics helps email marketers to draw valuable insights and optimize and strategize email campaigns for better performance.

Which email is most professional? ›

The most professional way to setup an email address is to use your first name and last name without numbers. For example, john.smith@domain.com. You can also use just your first initial or last initial such as johns@domain.com or jsmith@domain.com.
...
Take a look at these popular options:
  • Gmail.com.
  • Outlook.com.
  • Yahoo! Mail.
30 May 2022

How can I send 10000 emails? ›

6 easy steps to send bulk emails from Gmail
  1. Step 1: Connect your Gmail account. ...
  2. Step 2: Create your email list. ...
  3. Step 3: Create a sequence. ...
  4. Step 4: Compose your email. ...
  5. Step 5: Upload the list in CSV format. ...
  6. Step 6: Send or schedule the email.
1 Feb 2022

Is email marketing Easy? ›

Email marketing is not a complicated process but it's a process that requires a lot of A/B testing to find out how to best communicate with your subscribers in a way that is beneficial for them and for your business goals.

How do you do an email analysis? ›

Let's review all the parameters that you need to analyze for your email marketing: email deliverability, open rate, click-through rate, bounce rate, unsubscribe rate, and conversion rate. Email deliverability. It is the number of emails delivered to the recipients' inboxes from the total number of messages sent.

How do you Analyse email data? ›

Types of Email Marketing Data
  1. How many people open your emails?
  2. How many people click your links?
  3. Which link gets the most clicks?
  4. What time do people open your emails?
  5. How many unsubscribes do you get on average per email sent?
10 Dec 2020

What is a good email click rate 2022? ›

A good click-through rate for email can range from 1% to nearly 5%, based on the industry. On average, it's good to anticipate a click-through rate of 2.5%—although it's better to aim for around 4% if that is achievable in your industry.

What's a good open rate for emails 2022? ›

The first metric that determines the success of an email campaign is the open rate. A good open rate is between 17-28%. But that is not all. Many factors affect open rates that marketers have to consider before starting their email campaigns.

Does email marketing have the highest ROI? ›

For every $1 spent on email marketing, marketers make $42

That's a 4,200% ROI! Email marketing is king for one good reason: it has a higher ROI than other marketing strategies. Depending on the industry, this ROI can be even higher.

What is good email engagement rate? ›

As a rule of thumb you should look for 10 to 15% CTOR, so can compare emails against this benchmark. Finally, from this benchmark, I thought it would be useful to share the data on list churn as indicated by hard bounce rates and spam complaint rates.

What is engagement rate in email marketing? ›

Email engagement is a measure of how subscribers interact with your email marketing campaigns. You can only estimate your email engagement by monitoring the necessary metrics, like open rate, CTR, unsubscribe rate, etc.

What is engagement based email marketing? ›

Email marketing engagement is a measure of how your subscribed contacts interact with your email campaigns. We take their click activity, compare it to how long they've been in your audience, and classify them on an engagement scale.

What are KPIs in email marketing? ›

KPIs—or key performance indicators—are measures of the performances of different aspects of an email campaign. There are many different types of insights you can gain from tracking email KPIs. Mostly, you'll want to know who opens your marketing emails or who forwards them to other contacts.

What is the most important metric in email marketing? ›

Email marketing metric #1: Clickthrough rate

The clickthrough rate (CTR) is the most significant metric that email marketers can track right now. This is the number of people who clicked on a link, call-to-action (CTA) button, ad, or piece of content within your email divided by the number of emails sent.

How do you measure engagement in email? ›

Here are the formulas you'll need to know: Open rate: Open rate = (# emails opened ÷ # delivered emails) x 100. Click-through rate: CTR – (total measured clicks ÷ delivered emails) x 100. Click-to-Open rate: CTOR = (# of unique clicks ÷ # of unique opens) x 100.

How is email reach calculated? ›

You can calculate this by taking the number of new subscribers minus the number of unsubscribes, then divide that by the total number of email addresses on your list, and then multiply it by 100.

What is a good conversion rate for email marketing? ›

Generally, 2% to 5% is seen as a good email conversion rate, but again it depends on the industry you are involved in. Surprisingly, there's never a precise answer to it. The best thing to do is to view anything higher than your current conversion rate as better, and work to improve it continually.

What is the success rate of email marketing? ›

Based on the data presented by MailChimp, the average open rate across all industries is at 21.80%, and the average click-through rate is 2.78%.
...
Email Marketing Open and Click-Through Rates by Industry.
IndustryOpen RateClick-Through Rate
Marketing and Advertising17.81%1.92%
Media and Publishing22.14%4.70%
45 more rows
22 Sept 2020

How can I improve email marketing metrics? ›

9 Key Email Marketing Metrics & How to Optimize for Them
  1. Track Sources to Understand Digital Marketing Campaign KPIs. ...
  2. Track Open Rate as an Email Engagement Metric. ...
  3. Always Look to Reduce Email Bounce Rate as You Set Your KPIs. ...
  4. Email Click-Through Rate is a Metric That Proves Performance. ...
  5. Look at Conversion Rates.

What are email marketing analytics? ›

Email analytics is the method of tracking how your subscribers interact with your emails by tracking different metrics that deal with email delivery, engagement, and conversions. Such analytics helps email marketers to draw valuable insights and optimize and strategize email campaigns for better performance.

What is engagement rate in email marketing? ›

Email engagement is a measure of how subscribers interact with your email marketing campaigns. You can only estimate your email engagement by monitoring the necessary metrics, like open rate, CTR, unsubscribe rate, etc.

How do you calculate email impressions? ›

To understand how many thousand impressions are in a list, divide the total number of subscribers by 1,000. For example, if you send a newsletter to ten thousand people, you have ten thousand impressions (10,000 / 1000 = 10). If this example was charging a CPM of $15, you will pay 10*15 or $150 per send.

How do you Analyse email data? ›

Types of Email Marketing Data
  1. How many people open your emails?
  2. How many people click your links?
  3. Which link gets the most clicks?
  4. What time do people open your emails?
  5. How many unsubscribes do you get on average per email sent?
10 Dec 2020

How do you calculate KPI for email? ›

This metric is found by taking the total number of unsubscribes and divide by the total number of emails that were actually delivered. You then take that number and multiply by 100.

How do you figure out optimal days and times to send marketing emails? ›

The morning may be the best time of day to send marketing emails: 10am ranks highly for open rates in a number of sectors. However, the afternoon can also yield good results. The best solution is to test out a range of email times and see how your audience responds.

What is a good click-through rate? ›

You can see that most industries have an average click-through rate of between 4-6%. So a good Google Ads click-through rate is 6-7%+.

Videos

1. Building Relationships at Scale with Email Marketing in eCommerce Featuring Jess Chan
(Dropified)
2. How you can create email marketing strategies like a pro
(Growth Tribe)
3. Email Marketing for eCommerce with Chase Dimond | HTP Ep5 | Mayple - For Brands Looking to Scale
(Mayple)
4. How To Create And Scale A Cold Email Prospecting Strategy With Josh Braun | Sales Leadership Show
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